Skip Navigation Linksabout-crucible

Crucible of Excellence

RGS has produced many distinguished, high profile women over the years including scholars, leaders in various sectors of the economy, as well as women in high office.

Some of our distinguished women


Ms Chua Sock Koong

CEO, Singtel

Ms Claire Chiang

Senior VP,
Banyan Tree Holdings Ltd;
Woman of the Year (1998);
Nominated member of Parliament (1997-2001)

Performing Arts

Ms Siow Lee Chin

World-renowned violinist;
Gold medallist of the Henryk Szeyng International Violin Competition;
First Singaporean to be admitted to the prestigious Curtis Institute of Music,
Philadelphia, USA

Ms Kit Chan

Singer-songwriter-PR consultant;
Young Woman Achiever Award (2000);
Youth Ambassador (2001)

Ms Stefanie Sun

Young Woman Achiever Award (2001);
Singapore Youth Award –
Arts and Culture (2007)

Ms Tan Pin Pin

Singapore based, award winning film director

Public Service

Ms Chan Lai Fung

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education

Dr Amy Khor

Minister of State, Ministry of Health

Ms Lim Soo Hoon

Permanent Secretary (Finance)(Performance), Ministry of Finance & Ministry of Manpower

Ms Denise Phua

Member of Parliament;
Founder of Pathlight School

Honourable Justice Judith Prakash

Supreme Court Judge;
Chairperson of RGS Board of Governors

Dr Cheong Koon Hean

CEO of the Housing and Development Board (HDB) and Deputy Secretary (Special Duties) with the Ministry of National Development (MND); Made history in 2004 as the first woman to be appointed CEO of Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA); Woman of the Year (2010)


Professor Jackie Ying

Accomplished scientist and Director of A*STAR's Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (IBN)

Social Action

Dr Ang Swee Chai

Orthopedic surgeon consultant, St Bartholomews Hospital, London; author of From Beirut to Jerusalem

Dr Wong Ting Hway

First Singaporean doctor to work full-time with the International Committee of the Red Cross, one of the '1000 PeaceWomen across the Globe' who were collectively nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize (2005). Recipient of Her World Young Woman Achiever Award (2003)

Mrs Leaena Tambyah

Woman of the Year (1994);
Started Singapore's first school for children with multiple disabilities in 1979

Ms Bernise Ang

Singapore Woman of the Year
Award (2011);
Started Syinc, a Singapore-based non-profit organisation seeking innovative solutions for social change


Ms Quah Ting Wen

Represented Singapore in swimming at the 2008 Olympic Games. Won 4 Gold medals at the Asian Youth Games 2009, and named Most Valuable Female Player

Ms Nicole Tay and Ms Tabitha Tay

Represented Singapore at the South-east Asian (SEA) Games; first pair of siblings to be crowned joint-gold medallists in gymnastics